Ok, I understand
Cookie Notice: This site uses cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy.

Hoo St Werburgh Parish Council

About Us

Hoo St Werburgh Parish Council About Us

Welcome to the website for the Parish Council and Hoo St Werburgh village/civil parish generally.  Hoo St Werbugh sits on the Hoo Peninsula, near Rochester in Kent.  The civil parish also includes Chattenden village which is located to the west of Hoo St Werburgh village.  Hoo St Werburgh is sometimes referred to as just 'Hoo'.  St Werburgh (Saint Werburgh) is the name of the parish church, located in the centre of Hoo St Werburgh.  The church and village/civil parish is named after the Anglo-Saxon princess, Werburgh, who became patron saint of the city of Chester in Cheshire.  

The Hoo Peninsula sits between the River Thames and the River Medway and extends approximately around 10 miles from the 'kneck' of the peninsula to the furthest point out to sea, this geography most likely influenced its name 'Hoo' which is the Old English word for 'spur of land'.  The word 'Hoo' is pronounced in the same way as the word 'who'.  With Chattenden village, the word 'Chattenden' is pronounced 'chat-ten-dene' (or 'chat-ten-dean') which is thought to relate to the remains of medieval deneholes present in the village. 

To the north of Hoo St Werburgh is High Halstow (a village and civil parish).  To the south is the River Medway and on the other side of this river is St Mary's Island (an island community) and Gillingham (one of the main towns in the Medway conurbation/area).  To the east are the separate villages of Upper Stoke, Middle Stoke and Lower Stoke which form Stoke Civil Parish, the villages are sometimes referred to as just 'Stoke' (not to be confused with Stoke-on-Trent).  To the west and past Chattenden (which is part of Hoo St Werburgh civil parish), is Wainscott and the villages of Lower Upnor and Upper Upnor (both villages are sometimes referred to as just 'Upnor'), which are all part of Frindsbury Extra civil parish.  

Nearby St Mary Hoo (a village and civil parish) is similarly named.  Hoo St Werburgh has the word 'Hoo' before the saint name 'St Werburgh', rather than 'St Werburgh Hoo'.  St Mary Hoo has the saint name 'St Mary' before the word 'Hoo'.  The two villages/civil parishes are completely separate, with the only common factor being that both are on the Hoo Peninsula.   

Those not familiar with what Parish Councils are and what they do should click on the 'Our Responsibilities' tab at the top of this page.  In general, Parish Councils are the lowest level of local government and provide a small selection of public services to residents.  Councillors who sit on Parish Councils normally are neighbours within the community who volunteer their time and expertise to improve the quality of life for residents and the services the Parish Council provides.  Despite being called 'Parish' Councils, there is no religious connection between Parish Councils and local churches, or the parochial councils of those churches (Hoo St Werburgh Parish Council and St Werburgh Church Council are completely separate organisations).  The civil jurisdiction of Parish Councils (the area that a Parish Council governs or represents as such) normally covers the same or similar jurisdiction as religious parishes (and their churches), therefore the word 'Parish' has been used since Parish Councils were established.  Alternatively, Parish Councils could have been called 'Village' Councils from the beginning to avoid this possible confusion.  Town Councils are the same level of local government as Parish Councils.  

Hoo St Werburgh Parish Council
Clerk of the Council:  Mrs Sherrie Babington
Address:  4 Birkhall Close, Walderslade, Chatham, Kent, ME5 7QD
Telephone:  01634 868855
Email:  hooparishcouncil@sherriebabington.co.uk

*Please contact Monday to Friday, 9am to 5pm and allow 5 working days to respond.